Online Traffic School for Iowa
Drivers in Iowa have many options when it comes to traffic school or
defensive driving courses. By taking such a course, drivers may be able to
satisfy the requirements to avoid a driver's license suspension, fulfill
requirements for a traffic ticket, or reduce auto insurance rates.
Mandatory Traffic School
Drivers convicted of three moving violations within one year or those
convicted of driving 25 to 29 miles over the speed limit may be required to
take a driver improvement course by the Iowa Department of Transportation
(DOT) or a state traffic court.
If this is your situation, be sure to get all necessary information on the
requirements. Find out whether online courses are accepted or if you must
take an in-person, classroom course as well as the deadline for course
completion. Additional fees and documents may be required.
Failure to complete a required defensive driving program may result in your
driver's license being suspended. Once the course is completed, you will be
on probation for one year. If a traffic violation occurs within this
period, your license could be suspended in this case as well.
More information and details can be found on the Iowa DMV site. See the
suspended license page
driving records page.
Reducing Auto Insurance
Upon receiving a driver's license for the first time, teenagers are often
told they can reduce their auto insurance rates by taking a defensive
driving class. This applies frequently to senior citizens as well. Contact
your auto insurance carrier to see if all drivers can reduce rates by
enrolling in a driver improvement program. Different insurance companies
may have different programs or incentives to encourage safe driving habits
and award reduce rates accordingly.
Driver Improvement Course Information
Whether a defensive driver class is required or voluntary, it will
typically cover Iowa traffic laws, moving violations and consequences,
alcohol and drug abuse, sharing the road tips, and defensive driving
suggestions. Students enrolled in these courses will have the opportunity
to break bad driving habits, replace them with safer better habits, brush
up on rules and regulations, and hopefully reduce the risk of accidents and
traffic violations in the future.
Classroom and online driver improvement courses will take between four to
12 hours to complete. Online courses allow more flexibility on when
coursework is completed. Classroom instruction often takes place at a
After passing a final exam, you should receive a defensive driving
completion certificate. This can be sent to your traffic court, the Iowa
DMV or your car insurance company.