Are you one of our readers from Alaska interested in purchasing the SR-22 policy? No worries, we’ve got you covered. SR-22 is a popular insurance requirement that is often required by law after vehicular violations.
These infractions include a no-fault accident, piling up excess license points, DUI conviction, driving with an expired license, or getting ticketed for driving without insurance.
Understandably, it is not easy to find cheap SR-22 insurance in Alaska, but it worth it. We've done the bulk of the research on how much filing for SR-22 in Alaska costs and how you can get one.
Alaska has two laws designed to protect motorists and drivers, namely, Financial Responsibility and Mandatory Insurance. Every driver on Alaska roads must be financially responsible if an accident happens and own auto insurance to settle any bills incurred. In some states this includes having property damage car insurance coverage.
Any driver that doesn’t adhere to these regulations will be issued a $500 penalty fine and have their driving license suspended for 12 months. If you are found guilty of causing the accident, your driving license can be suspended for up to 3 years.
A history of violations on your record will get you flagged as a high-risk driver in Alaska, which means insurers will find it challenging to offer you cheap rates.
Alaska is notorious for its expensive SR-22 rates. This is not direct damnation of the SR-22. The fees typically range between $15 - $35. However, the inflated rates are caused by driving violations that triggered the SR-22 request in the first instance.
Alaskan Auto insurers charge high-risk drivers more money to account for the volatile nature of their records. The increased rate depends on the seriousness and frequency of these citations.
Drivers With Active Insurance
Drivers that own auto insurance can purchase an SR-22 certificate quite easily. Call your auto insurer and ask for an SR-22 request to be filed on your behalf. If your auto insurance company declines this request, we highly suggest you change insurers immediately.
Drivers Without Insurance
Uninsured drivers applying for a new policy will be charged with an upfront fee before the auto insurance company files the SR-22 request on your behalf. This is to serve as security to cover for your excess driving style.
Some insurers might disqualify your request for an SR-22 certificate since it might be deemed too risky, while others are happy to accommodate you.
For Drivers Who Don’t Own A Vehicle
If you don't own a car, it can be very difficult to file for an SR-22 policy since you will be required to provide proof of insurance before you can be awarded the certificate. It is sensible to purchase a non-owners policy before filing for the certificate.
Traditional coverage is more expensive than non-owners auto insurance because the latter does not offer protection for physical damage in an accident.
The Mandatory Insurance Law applies to every Alaskan driver. This law implores motorists within state grounds to have vehicular liability insurance whenever you drive. The limit for minimum coverage stands at 50/100/25.
The law further states that drivers must possess at least one verifiable proof of insurance in their car whenever they are on the road.
Officers of the law can request proof of insurance during traffic stops or when a traffic infraction is detected. You can provide proof in the form of your insurance binder, the insurance ID card, a liability certificate, or a copy of the insurance policy issued by your auto insurance company.
If you do not have any of these proofs handy, chances are you will face a penalty fine. The penalties typically follow this pattern outlined below.
First-time offenders who drive without insurance in Alaska are charged a sum of $500 and face the risk of getting their license suspended. If you do not submit the relevant documents to Alaska DMV as proof of insurance within a month, your license will be suspended.The duration of suspension is usually 90 days.
If you are found guilty of driving without insurance for a second time within ten years of your first conviction, the state will charge you another $500 fee. However, repeat offenders will have their driver's license suspended for 12 months. Alaska laws grant repeat offenders a 30-day period of grace to submit evidence that you had an active insurance policy at the time you were charged.
In the absence of proof, your suspension will become official. Your driving privileges will only be restored after the one year penalty period has elapsed. Repeating the offense a third time will lead to a three-year license suspension.
At Fault For Accident
In a situation where you are involved in a traffic accident, you must comply with Alaska's mandatory insurance law. It consists of any collision that results in injury or death or damaged property worth upwards of $500.
Regardless of who is at fault, both parties involved in the accident must submit proof of insurance to the law enforcement officer showing that they have fulfilled the state’s obligations.
Furthermore, if you are the erring party, Alaska's financial responsibility law dictates that you pay for the victim’s medical costs and damaged property. Without liability coverage, it can be very costly to settle up, which will incur severe penalties.
In addition to the $500 fine for violating insurance laws, your driving privileges will be revoked for up to 36 months if you're the party at fault. You will be granted 15 days to prove your compliance with insurance laws when the accident occurred.
If your claim is verified, the suspension duration will be reduced as long as you settle the payments owed to the other party.
Most auto insurance providers request a filing fee that can be as steep as $50, although a few insures in Alaska offer this service for free. When choosing your preferred auto insurer, don't choose based on the SR-22 filing fee. The deal charges lie in the insurance rates as a result of your high-risk status.
According to our research, an SR-22 policy with a lone DUI conviction can cost up to $230 per month. There is also the additional filing fee charged by auto insurance companies for processing the SR-22 form.
The company provides insurance coverage for all drivers regardless of whether you request SR-22 insurance or not. Allstate delivers a non-favored policy for drivers that are considered high-risk. However, you have to pay a fee for filing the form.
You are allowed to drive a car you don't own in Alaska as long as you have an SR-22 certificate, which has been filed with the DMV, thus allowing you to legally drive on Alaska roads without rinsing a citation on your driving record.
By itself, an SR-22 policy does not contribute to increased insurance rates. It is merely a document that proves your insurance company can guarantee you own the minimum coverage as stipulated by state law.
For specific information pertaining to another state in question, please refer to the respective that are more in-depth.
Before you unsubscribe from this policy, notify the DMV that you no longer need an SR-22. Then you can contact your insurance provider to cancel your filing and the SR-22 policy.
Regular insurance offers coverage for the duration of a policy and can apply to different aspects of livin while SR-22 is an insurance monitoring system used by Alaska law enforcement officers to track erring drivers. It is a form of auto insurance with the added option of an SR-22 filing.
If you are not a vehicle owner, you are required to purchase a non-owner policy as proof of financial responsibility to the state. It is state-mandated and shows that you own the minimum requirements to recover your suspended license in an accident or driving violation.
United Services has the cheapest SR-22 rates in Alaska. They charge at an average rate of $435 per year. Next up is USAA who sets a fair price of $485 every year.
Failure to request and document an SR-22 form in Alaska will result in you losing your vehicle registration or a suspended license, as well as paying exorbitant reinstatement fees. Related: Car insurance with no down payments.