Arizona's SR-22 insurance is a unique certificate issued by an insurance company operating in Arizona. It can be in the form of a document confirming that a deposit of $40,000 is held in trust by the Arizona Office of Treasurer.
If you are convicted for a DUI violation, refusal to take a breathalyzer test, or violating specific vehicle insurance guidelines in Arizona and your license is suspended, proof of financial responsibility must be submitted to the MVD. That proof is called the SR-22.
The negative impact of being mandated to purchase SR-22 insurance is the increased cost of your automobile insurance. All insurance companies do not sell SR-22 insurance because of the risk involved. Auto insurers who can afford to sell SR-22 insurance will label such drivers as high risk, which means they have to pay more expensive premiums than regular car insurance.
Any DUI conviction automatically triggers a need to purchase SR-22 insurance. However, this policy is not necessary for customary 15-day MVD that implies consent. Due to this exception, it is smart to meet with a DUI lawyer to consider your MVD suspension options under Arizona laws.
If you are mandated to own SR-22 insurance, it must be maintained for 36 months from the sentencing date. Failure to retain the proof of insurance will lead to your license and registration being rescinded until you can establish proof of minimum auto insurance coverage.
Arizona SR-22 auto insurance is likely to be costly. This has no direct correlation to the cost of the SR-22 form, usually between $15 to $40 region but is caused by increased insurance rates triggered by the violations for which the SR-22 is filed.
Car insurers charge inflated premiums for high-risk drivers due to the volatility of the claims payout. The rise in rates depends on the consistency and severity of the violations.
The process entailed in purchasing SR-22 car insurance is fairly straightforward. If you are a driver with active coverage, you can place a request to your insurance company to file for an SR-22 with the Arizona MVD.
Chances are you will need to file for a fresh insurance policy since many insurers will withdraw your coverage when they learn of the addition of your SR-22 insurance to your portfolio. If you are lucky not to get dropped, expect your rates to shoot up if you get involved in a DUI or accident.
We recommend filtering through multiple Arizona insurance companies to get the best rate. When comparing quotes from insurers, inform your advisor of your situation and be honest about your conviction's details.
While some auto insurance companies will outrightly offer an SR-22, other insurers would like to know the circumstances surrounding your request.
Your auto insurance advisor will likely inquire about the time and place where the incident occurred, your driving history, how long you’ve been uninsured, and how you lost coverage.
Remember that not every auto insurer sells SR-22 policies, so you may need to search thoroughly to find an insurance company willing to offer you one. Alternatively, you may try out the Arizona Automobile Insurance Plan. It is a unique program that matches insurers with high-risk drivers.
Usually, the Arizona MVS (Motor Vehicle Services) requires you to own SR-22 for at least 36 months before you can stop filing the certificate. If your insurance lapses during this period or you fail to pay for coverage, the clock will reset, and you will start the counter from zero.
When the three-year duration has elapsed, reach out to the MVD to confirm that you no longer require the SR-22 policy. Then you can proceed to cancel the policy with your auto insurer. Your SR22 must be on file for these 36 months consecutively – not just an addition of months after the license was suspended.
Canceling the SR-22 before the due date could lead to a penalty or trigger a recount of the three-year duration. You wouldn't want that now, would you?
A driver may need SR-22 insurance for different reasons. Usually, it is related to driving offenses, and the most popular ones are driving uninsured or a DUI conviction. Both offenses usually trigger license suspension or even revocation, for which you will need SR-22 insurance to get your license reinstated.
Other peculiar situations may convince a judge to request SR-22 insurance, such as too many accumulated points on your license or unpaid ticket fees.
For Insured Drivers
If you own auto insurance, purchasing an SR-22 certificate should be fairly straightforward. Call your car insurance firm and have them file an SR-22 form for you with the MVD. If your auto insurer refuses to grant this request, you should switch insurers immediately.
For Uninsured Drivers
As a driver without insurance, filing for SR-22 insurance might come with a step upfront charge to cover your less-than-ideal driver profile. Some companies may deny your SR-22 request due to the risk involved, but many insurers will be happy to take you on at a juicy rate.
For Drivers Without A Car It is tough to purchase an SR-22 if you don't own a vehicle, as you will be required to present proof of insurance before you can be awarded the certificate. If you find yourself in such a situation, obtain a non-owners policy before requesting the SR-22 certificate.
Non-owners coverage is relatively cheaper than conventional coverage since it doesn’t offer protection in case of bodily damage to your car.