If you wish to purchase Colorado SR-22 auto insurance, you are not alone. SR-22 insurance in Colorado is a relatively popular insurance mandate that is often required when a driver commits a violation.
The violation may be a DUI, driving uninsured, driving with a revoked license, collating negative points on your license, or causing an accident that resulted in serious property damage.
Purchasing cheap SR-22 insurance in Colorado can be quite a task, but it is worth the hassle. Colorado laws dictate that all drivers must own liability insurance. The state's minimum coverage amounts for any form of liability are:
In peculiar situations, the Colorado department of revenue may request an SR-22 form to be filed when you have your license suspended or revoked. Contrary to popular opinion, the SR-22 isn't insurance but a certificate that proves a driver possesses minimum liability coverage and is filed with Colorado DMV.
Although purchasing SR-22 in Colorado is quite cheap, it raises a red flag to auto insurers that you have a high-risk driving history, which puts you at high-risk status. Applying for and receiving SR-22 alerts your car insurance company that you have a “sensitive” history, which will attract an investigation as to why you require an SR-22.
The result of the investigation usually leads to your auto insurer confirming that you have a DUI and other traffic infractions on your record. This type of information entices your insurance company to bill higher than normal since you are now regarded as a high-risk driver.
Similar to traditional auto insurance, SR-22 insurance is split into owners and non-owners policies. Regardless of whether you own a car or not, Colorado law states that you must own SR-22 insurance. The three standard options are:
Owners certificate: Available to drivers that own cars
Operators certificate: Provided to drivers that don’t own a vehicle.
Operators-owners certificate: Provided to drivers that can commandeer vehicles they own or not. It requires all the cars that will be driven listed in the SR-22 policy.
It is common knowledge that drivers who need SR-22 insurance are grouped under the high-risk category. Such drivers need to reactivate their license before hitting the streets. This means high premiums and filing for SR-22 certificates.
Colorado law states that SR-22 must be owned for three years. During this duration, you cannot pause the plan and renew it later. Your policy must be maintained for 36 months without pause and must be active for the entirety of this duration.
If for some reason, your SR-22 lapses or you cannot issue the stipulated monthly payments, your auto insurance company will immediately contact the Colorado DMV about your deficit.
If this happens, an SR-26 form (canceling the policy) will be automatically issued. Hence, your driver's license will be rescinded. You will have to file for another SR-22 and maintain it for 36 months to restore your driving privileges. You can get rid of the SR-22 policy in Colorado by simply driving safely or owning the policy for the entire stipulated duration.
The Department of Revenue may demand the SR-22 form for several reasons. The most popular reasons are for a suspended license or a rescinded license due to DUI or DWA infractions. Suppose your license and registration are revoked for any of the reasons mentioned above. In that case, you will not only have to purchase an SR-22 but also pay a second reinstatement fee to fulfill all of the state-mandated requirements.
In special cases, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device.
Colorado especially is renowned for meting out harsh punishments to drivers guilty of DWAI and DUI convictions. If you are a first-time offender, there is the possibility of jail time, fines, probation, and court-mandated therapy sessions for alcoholism.
WHAT ARE THE IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICE (IID) REQUIREMENTS IN COLORADO?
Since January 1, 2014, drivers who are guilty of DUI or DWAI and have their license rescinded have been required to install an ignition interlock device if found guilty of the following:
Colorado DMV allows first-time offender drivers to voluntarily install ignition interlock devices as proof of responsibility when their license is suspended. This only applies to drivers above 21 and whose blood alcohol level was under the 0.15 mark when the breathalyzer test was conducted.
Also, you can apply for restricted privileges if your license was rescinded for more than a year due to a DUI conviction by completing Level 2 Therapy and installing an IID.
For insured drivers
Insured drivers typically find it easy to purchase SR-22 insurance from auto insurance companies. Contact your auto insurer and ask for an SR-22 form to be filed on your behalf. If your request is declined, consider changing insurers.
For uninsured drivers
When you want to purchase auto insurance, there is the possibility you will be charged an upfront fee to transfer the responsibility of filing an SR-22 to your insurer. This will serve as coverage for your volatile driving style. Some insurers might make you ineligible from purchasing insurance if you have an SR-22 certification on your portfolio, while others are open to offering you policies.
Don't own a car?
If you don't own a car, it can be tough to purchase the SR-22 policy since you need insurance evidence to collect the certificate. A non-owner insurance policy is recommended for drivers who don’t own a vehicle before applying for an SR-22 certificate.
This type of policy is relatively inexpensive compared to conventional coverage since it doesn't offer protection if your vehicle suffers bodily damage.