Although SR-22 insurance isn't a requirement in the state of Delaware, all drivers are mandated to own insurance. Hence, if you are not a car owner but drive, you will be required by Delaware DMV to present proof of insurance whenever you want to apply for or renew your license.
Drivers who don't own a vehicle have the luxury of getting cheap insurance. This policy is known as non-owner SR-22 only provides liability coverage since the policy is not exclusive to a specific vehicle. If you often drive a friend or family member's car, ensure that the owner owns both collision and comprehensive insurance coverage since your non-owners policy does not offer that.
SR-22 insurance is compulsory in most United States, except for Delaware, Pennsylvania, Minnesota, Oklahoma, Kentucky, North Carolina, New Mexico, and New York. If you relocate from a state that requires SR-22 to any of the states mentioned above, you will still be required to maintain the requirements stipulated by that state where you filed for the SR-22 policy.
Delaware Ignition Interlock Law
As a first-time offender with a DUI violation, there is a possibility of being allowed an Ignition Interlock exception. During your court appointment, you can register for "First Offender Program." This will allow you to obtain an IID license that compels you only to interlock driving for 150 days.
After this period has elapsed, you can now apply for complete restoration of your driver's license.
If you have a repeated history of DUI infractions or refused to take a breathalyzer test, you may still apply for the Ignition Interlock Device license. However, you must serve part of your probation period. The ratio says:
- Serve 12 months of 24 months.
- Serve 6 months of 18 months.
- Serve 2 months of 12 months.
Applying for an IID license means you accept an extension of your probation period by two months. However, you can drive in Delaware for the entire period, provided it is an interlock-equipped car.
The installation of IID costs $70, with a monthly rental fee of $75.
Similar to other states, Delaware maintains that drivers must own a minimum level of liability insurance. This is regardless of whether you own a vehicle or not. The pertinent thing to do is inquire about the best type of coverage from your auto insurance company. Comparing PLPD insurance quotes may be a good start for example.
While we cannot make your choice for you, we recommend you request quotes from multiple insurers before making your decision.
The minimum coverage as directed by the state:
- Property Damage: $10,000
- Physical injury per accident: $30,000
- Physical injury per individual: $15,000
The amount set by the state is not exactly the recommended level of coverage but the minimum coverage acceptable in Delaware. It is sensible to have higher liability coverage, but we recommend asking your auto insurer for advice.
Non-owner car insurance is significantly cheaper than the average auto insurance in Delaware. This is because it only offers liability coverage for the vehicle. When you buy a car, you can easily switch policies to accommodate full coverage for the car.
It is important to note that your auto insurance rate may be based on different factors, including location, driving record, credit, and other factors. Ensure you ask your insurance provider for available discounts such as multi-policy discounts that are often offered to homeowners.
Start shopping for your preferred policy today.
Usually, Delaware SR-22 insurance is requested from drivers who have a terrible driving record. Although another area has mandated you to own one, you must carry it with you while visiting Delaware.
If you have a revoked license because you failed to carry the relevant insurance documents with you in a different state, your driving privileges can also be suspended in Delaware.
The short answer is NO. Although you are under probation from another state where you have been mandated to own one, it is obligatory to carry it in Delaware. Your license will be suspended in the original state if you fail to maintain SR-22 insurance for the stipulated period.
Since SR-22 insurance is not compulsory in the state, you have to file for the form from the state where the driver's license was revoked. Ensure you have it with you wherever you go in case you get stopped by law enforcement officers. Since each state has its unique laws, consult with your local Delaware DMV for more information on SR-22 requirements.
Various factors can contribute to an inflated car insurance rate, namely:
- DUI infraction
- Poor credit score
- Charged with a speeding ticket
- Low insurance coverage
- Causing an accident
- 12k mile trip
You can get your Delaware driver's license recovered after a DUI violation by doing any of the following:
- Applying for a second license examination
- Graduating from an alcohol education program
- Pass a character background review
- Making a reinstatement fee payment
Reach out to your local DMV before removing your SR-22 insurance policy. This will help you ascertain if you no longer need the certificate. After confirming, you can then proceed to have your auto insurer cancel the policy on your behalf.
SR-22 insurance by itself only costs around $35, but a driver with a DUI conviction on their record will be charged about $230 per month. This is the average rate for high-risk drivers, according to our research. Additionally, there is a one-time processing fee attached to the total cost.
Carrying an SR-22 certificate is not compulsory in Delaware. However, if you have been mandated to own one in another state, you must have it on your person when you're in Delaware.
For specific information pertaining to another state in question, please refer to the respective that are more in-depth.
It is quite costly to apply for an SR-22 certificate in any state, especially if you have a DUI or multiple infractions on your driving record. You will be charged a premium higher than the actual filing fee if you have been in an accident, been guilty of traffic violations, or have been convicted for driving under the influence.
Since the SR-22 is mandated in many states, you will need to apply for a non-owner SR-22 policy if you are not a car owner or don't drive. This will serve as proof of financial responsibility with the state.
If your SR-22 policy elapses during the mandated period, this shows that you have failed to pay the required fees to maintain your minimum liability coverage. In such a case, your insurance provider, per state law, must report this indiscretion to the DMV.
You can drive a car that is not yours by purchasing non-owner SR-22 insurance, which offers liability coverage. It is cheaper than the average car insurance and protects you when driving a car you don't own. Non-owner insurance is the most inexpensive way to fulfill the state's requirements for the mandated period of three years.
You can confirm from your state DMV the exact duration you're expected to own an SR-22 for. Most states stipulate for three years. At the end of this term, you must remove the policy by contacting the DMV, or your insurer will continue filing it.
When your SR-22 policy is over, contact your insurance provider and confirm that your payments are up to date. Make sure your current payment date tallies with the new SR-22 filing. This will inform the local DMV that you extended your coverage.
Sometimes, you may be required to pay a reinstatement fee to have your license back. This fee is paid to the DMV in your state.
You can only remove the SR-22 from your insurance policy when you complete the probation period. Ensure you call your local DMV before canceling the policy. Confirm that the stipulated period has elapsed before making any changes. Related: No money down auto insurance