SR-22 insurance is a certificate filed by a car insurance company with Kansas state proving that you possess the minimum required insurance to fulfill its financial responsibility requirements. Kansas state law mandates drivers who are uninsured or have been convicted of traffic violations to carry SR-22 insurance at all times.
If you have committed specific violations such as driving uninsured, driving under the influence, driving without a license, or similar traffic infractions, you must purchase SR-22 insurance. This document must be owned for three straight years and can be quite expensive if you are not familiar with the process of shopping for cheap rates.
If you don't have an SR-22 policy and you have been convicted of vehicular infractions, your driving privileges will be withheld by the State, and you must maintain insurance to show that you truly have it. It is common knowledge that Kansas does not take kindly to drunk drivers. The State has one of the heaviest penalties for drunk driving offenses.
First-time offenders must serve 100 hours of public or a jail time of 48 hours. You may also be charged a fine that can be as much as $1000 depending on the offense. Additionally, your license will be suspended for a month, after which it will be placed under probation for the next eleven months.
In some cases, the State may impound your car for up to twelve months. Some judges might recommend that you undergo a treatment program. These are just some of the consequences of drunk driving in Kansas.
As we mentioned earlier, purchasing SR-22 insurance is an expensive venture in Kansas. However, the steep cost isn’t due to the insurance policy itself. The cost of processing SR-22 insurance is less than $50, but the monthly insurance rate will be costly based on the type of violation that warranted the SR-22 certificate in the first instance.
Auto insurance companies bill high-risk drivers higher because of the increased possibility of a payout claim.
Your monthly insurance rate depends on the frequency and nature of your infractions. The cost of Kansas SR-22 insurance on average is $1300 more for drivers with a DUI conviction, $750 for drivers who have been involved in a collision, and $500 more for speeding tickets.
Many auto insurers in Kansas provide SR-22 insurance to drivers that are considered high-risk. It is crucial to compare different insurer’s rates to find the best value for money. You may even switch insurers after getting the SR-22 certificate from the initial company.
Getting your license restored is another ballgame entirely, compared to the processing fee. Kansas state charges a reinstatement fee when you restore your license, and this amount can range between $100 to $1000 depending on your record, including a $25 exam fee.
Additionally, you have to factor in court costs, which have to be paid for before proceeding with your SR-22 application.
If you have been convicted of any serious vehicular infractions, odds are you will be charged a premium for auto insurance. Auto insurers will predict future behavior based on your past driving record, which will inevitably lead to costlier fees. It is a guarantee that high-risk drivers get charged more than the average driver.
As soon as the court requests you to maintain SR-22 insurance, immediately call your auto insurance agent to file an SR-22 certificate. Your insurance company will then send the form directly to the Kansas Department of Revenue or have you submit it yourself.
The Department of Motor Vehicles is under the jurisdiction of the Department of Revenue. To file for SR-22 insurance in Kansas:
To avoid getting your license suspended:
- Take note of payment deadlines.
- Renew your SR-22 policy at least two weeks before the due date
- Ensure your coverage maintenance is continuous.
Kansas state law recommends that an SR-22 certificate for a suspended license be kept on file for twelve months. If you move to another state or switch auto insurers, you must update your information on the SR-22 form with the Department of Revenue.
Kansas SR-22 certificate process to the State that a high-driver owns the minimum legal amount of auto insurance coverage mandated by the State. If your SR-22 insurance elapses during the stipulated period, your agent will inform the State of your default.
For specific information pertaining to another state in question, please refer to the respective that are more in-depth.
The amount depends on your insurance companies. However, our research showed that drivers might be charged between $300 to $800 depending on various factors, including location, driving record, marital status, and driving experience. Auto insurers who offer SR-22 insurance coverage typically charge a premium for this service.
Before you get rid of your SR-22 policy, confirm from your local DMV that you no longer require the certificate. After that, call your auto insurance provider to cancel your filing and remove SR-22 insurance from your policy.
Every state in the USA has it’s own insurance requirements and driving laws. Depending on your state of residence, drivers are usually required to maintain the form for three years continuously. After the penalty term expires, you can remove the form from your record.
If you don’t drive, you may still need a special SR-22 policy – the non-owners SR-22 insurance. This form proves you have complied with the financial responsibility laws of the State. Your license will be reinstated once you own the certificate.
Reach out to your state DMV to confirm the specific timeframe you are expected to carry the SR-22 certificate. Most states require high-risk drivers to maintain the form for thirty-six months. Note that your insurer will keep filing and charging you after your term has elapsed unless you cancel the policy. Hence, contact your insurance company at the end of your term to remove the filing from your insurance policy.
Liaise with your car insurance company to get your payments updated as quickly as you can. Then, file for another SR-22 policy totally with your current payment date. This will notify the DMV that you possess new coverage. However, you may be required to pay a second reinstatement fee before your license can be reinstated.
If you fail to file for SR-22 and your period of consideration elapses, you may face hefty penalties and fines. Failure to make the required payments to maintain your coverage can lead to jail time or license suspension.
When you cancel the SR-22 policy, your auto insurer will file and submit an SR-26 form with the State and DMV notifying them that you have to cancel the policy. Your license will automatically be suspended, and additional fines will be added to your insurance cost.
One of the best ways to avoid paying for SR-22 insurance is to take defensive driving courses to eliminate driving risks. Being a safe driver will keep you from the claws of SR-22 insurance. However, if you have been convicted, you can pay a lump sum of $70,000 to the State to reinstate your license without owning SR-22 insurance.
Practice responsible driving and avoid minor traffic infractions.