SR-22 is a form that is carried as a proof of future financial responsibility. It demonstrates that the driver or carrier possesses a car insurance policy that meets the minimum auto insurance requirements of states that accept it. In Minnesota, like most American states, it is required of drivers that have been convicted of certain traffic and driving violations. Such violations include lack of concordance to the financial responsibility laws as relating to drivers and motorists.
This form must be filed by an authorized insurance policy provider in Minnesota on behalf of an offending driver and shows a capacity for such a driver to cover whatever costs accrue as a result of a future accident.
Offences within the state of Minnesota that could require the filing of an SR-22 form with the state DMV are:
In the event that any of the above offences has been committed by a driver in Minnesota or a driver has had his license suspended for whatever reason, the state DMV would inform the driver if an SR-22 filing is required.
In Minnesota, like all states that require an SR-22 filing of certain drivers, the form confers on the driver requiring high risk status and this status would be most evident in the increased insurance rates that such a driver would be charged by insurance providers.
Other than the significant effect of increased insurance rates on the account balance, drivers would still be required by insurance policy providers to pay a one-time fee of $20 to $50 as a processing fee for filing the form on their behalf.
The expenses still do not stop there for some drivers as some drivers may still be required to pay reinstatement fees before their driving privileges can be returned.
In Minnesota, like most states, there are different types of insurance policies depending on situation and the different types of forms apply also to SR-22 certifications. The three types of SR-22 insurance forms in Minnesota are:
If your license has been suspended I Minnesota and an SR-22 filing is required of you as a result, the filing would have to be done before your license can be reinstated.
Similarly, if you have no car but have committed an offence that merits an SR-22 filing, the state of Minnesota would still require you to file the form before you get behind a wheel again. Failure to meet the requirements of the state while still driving would be classified as unlawful.
Drivers who are required to file an SR-22 in Minnesota must do so through licensed insurance providers. This would mean that if your insurer doesn’t offer such services or isn’t equipped to file the form, you would need a new insurance provider. Whatever insurance provider is to do the filing would require a filing fee from you along with the purchase of an insurance policy that meets certain state requirements. These requirements are:
Upon payment of the filing fee and the purchase of an insurance policy that meets the minimum liability coverage requirements of Minnesota, the insurance provider can then file the form with the state.
If you have an SR-22 from another state and plan to drive in Minnesota, you would be required by state law to transfer the SR-22 filing to the state and keep maintaining it for the agreed period of maintenance.
The minimum time period required for the maintenance of an SR-22 filing in Minnesota is three years. The actual time period mandated by the state of an offending driver could rise depending on the severity of the offence and the number of offences on such a driver’s record.
What to do if the SR-22 lapses
Any lapse in insurance coverage or failure to renew an insurance policy during the maintenance of an SR-22 filing would lead to another suspension of a driver’s license. This is because the requirement for an SR-22 is that insurance coverage be continuous for a mandated period of time. If this lapse occurs, a driver would need to renew the insurance policy, file for a new SR-22 and pay whatever reinstatement fees and court fees are necessary.
In some cases, the duration of maintenance of the SR-22 filing might be reset regardless of when the lapse occurred.
How to go about cancelling my filing when I no longer need SR-22 coverage
After the state mandated period of coverage has been completed, a driver can get rid of an SR-22 filing. The safest way to do this involves first contacting the state DMV to confirm that the SR-22 requirement has indeed been settled. Following confirmation, the insurance provider can then be directed to cancel the filing.