The SR-22 insurance, also referred to as the SR-22 certificate of financial responsibility, is documentation required within the state of Missouri for the reinstatement of a suspended or revoked license. The following violations would result in a driver needing an SR-22 filing:
For the filing of an SR-22 within Missouri, most insurance providers typically charge between $20 and $50. However, the true financial impact of an SR-22 is not reflected in the filing fee but rather in the insurance premiums payable by a driver.
Being required to file for an SR-22 is tantamount to being classified a high risk driver b the state of Missouri and this would mean that insurance providers would inflate your insurance premiums to account for the increased risk.
Still, there are insurance provides that specialize in such drivers and shopping around would unveil relatively cheaper policies around.
Regardless of whether or not you have a car in Missouri, provided you are required to file for an SR-22, you must file it. A failure to do so would mean that such an individual is not legally permitted to drive within the state.
In a similar vein, if you do not have a license or it has been suspended, you would be required by the state to buy an adequate insurance policy and file for an SR-22 if you ever wish to drive again in the state.
Filing of an SR-22 in Missouri has to be done through a licensed insurance provider. As such, you would need to have a car insurance policy provider that offers such services.
For the service of processing the filing on your behalf, the insurance provider would require a filing fee. The insurance policy that is required to support your SR-22 is, however, expected by the state to meet the following requirements:
After a policy meeting state requirements has been purchased, your insurance provider can file the form electronically with the state. A notice confirming the acceptance of the form would be sent by the state permitting you to resume driving.
If you have an SR-22 from another state, you are required to maintain it while in Missouri. However, it would be prudent to also call the Missouri Department of Revenue to verify if your insurance policy meets the state’s requirements.
Depending on the severity of your offence and the number of transgressions on your record, you may be required by the state to maintain an SR-22 filing for one to three years. During this time period, any lapse in your insurance coverage would result in your license being suspended again.
What to do if the SR-22 lapses
If your insurance coverage lapses during the maintenance of an SR-22 filing in Missouri, the insurance provider is obligated by law to file an SR-26 with the state informing them of failure to renew or the cancellation of your policy.
This would result in your license being suspended again and your insurance coverage would need to be renewed and your mandate with the state, restarted, for your license to be reinstated.
Any reinstatement and/or court fees would also be charged to you.
How to go about cancelling my filing when I no longer need SR-22 coverage
Upon the completion of the state-mandated period of maintenance of your SR-22, you can call the Driver’s License Bureau to confirm the completion of your mandate. After confirming, you can then contact your insurance provider and have them cancel the filing.
Missouri requires drivers who have repeatedly violated their financial responsibility laws to file for an SR-22A with the state. This form requires the driver to have a valid insurance policy that is paid for in full for at least six months in advance.