New Jersey is one of six states within the United States that do not require an SR-22 filing after certain traffic offences have been committed. In most states, the SR-22 is an insurance form that proves to the state officials that a previously offending motorist carries adequate auto insurance liability coverage and would continue to carry the policy for a court-mandated period of time. However, New Jersey has its own policies that have been put in place to help ensure that drivers are carrying an adequate insurance policy in the event of an accident.
One of these policies is the payment of a surcharge by an offending motorist. If you are required to pay a surcharge in New Jersey for one reason or another, you would be informed of the requirement to do so by the Motor Vehicle Commission. Situations that may require the payment of a surcharge are:
Other than the payment of a surcharge, the state of New Jersey requires that all drivers operating vehicles within the sate possess basic insurance. This is mandated by the Automobile Cost Reduction Act. This basic policy meets the minimum insurance requirements of the state which are:
Despite the requirement of all drivers to meet this minimum, most insurance professionals encourage drivers to purchase higher levels of car insurance with more liability coverage. This is because New Jersey is a choice no-fault state. What this means is that inhabitants of the state are allowed to reject the no-fault system and sue whatever individual they believe is at fault for an accident.
New Jersey doesn’t require its drivers to file for an SR-22 with the state but it requires that all drivers within the state possess an auto insurance policy that meets with its requirements before they are allowed to get behind the wheel.
Instead of an SR-22 in the event of a violation, the state may demand that the offending driver pay an annual surcharge for a period of three years. The amount that would be required to be paid is dependent on the severity of the offence committed.
For instance, DUIs and other major driving convictions and violations can result in the payment of surcharges up to $1000 a year while driving without a valid license and other less serious violations could require annual surcharges of as low as $100. In the event that you are required to pay a surcharge t the state, you would be notified as such by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission.
However, this might just be the beginning of the financial impact of your failure to follow the driving laws of the state. A driving violation would mean that such a person is legally considered high risk and this new status would be evident in the increased insurance premiums that would be required by policy providers.
New Jersey doesn’t require the filing of an SR-22 form within the state under any circumstances. All it requires of its drivers is that they meet the minimum insurance liability coverage and uninsured motorist coverage requirements that have been set by the state.
If you wish to drive legally within New Jersey but do not own a car, you would still be required to buy an insurance policy before getting behind the wheel. Such a policy must at least provide the minimum liability coverage demanded by the state if not personal coverage.
If you have previously filed an SR-22 in another state before moving to New Jersey, you are still bound b law to ensure that you maintain the filing within that state. if you plan to drive in New Jersey, you should also check with the Motor Vehicle Commission to verify if your insurance policy meets the requirements of the state of New Jersey.
The state of New Jersey does not require its drivers to file an SR-22 with them. However, if you have an out-of-state SR-22 filing, you would be required to maintain it for as long as is mandated by the court within that state if you wish to drive legally within New Jersey.
What to do if the SR-22 lapses
The state of New Jersey doesn’t require an SR-22 filing under any circumstance but it requires all of its drivers to carry an adequate insurance policy. As such, if your coverage were to lapse at anytime, it would be unlawful to drive within the state until the policy has been renewed.
Though an SR-22 filing fee is not required in New Jersey, the offences that require the filing in other states could lead to the payment of a surcharge within New Jersey. The surcharge could vary from $100 to $1000 annually, depending on the severity of the offence committed. However, this might just be the beginning of the financial impact of your failure to follow the driving laws of the state. A driving violation would also mean that a driver’s premiums could rise by an average of 171%. The average insurance rate of such offenders in the state is $3,851 per annum or $321 per month.
For specific information pertaining to another state in question, please refer to the respective that are more in-depth.
Progressive offers SR-22 insurance but the state of New Jersey does not require the filing of drivers.
The state of New Jersey does not require drivers to file for an SR-22 but all drivers operating vehicles within the state must possess basic insurance. That meets certain coverage requirements. The requirements of the state are:
$15,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person
$30,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident
$5,000 property damage coverage
$15,000 uninsured/under insured motorist liability coverage per person
$30,000 uninsured/underinsured motorist liability coverage per accident
Though an SR-22 filing is not required in New Jersey, the expensive nature of a car insurance policy with an SR-22 filing is due to the high risk classification of the driver with the filing. In other words, it is expensive because the driver is a bigger liability on the road compared to other motorists.
In states that require an SR-22 filing of certain drivers, the filing fee charged by the insurance providers is a one-time fee. The form would still have to be maintained by keeping your insurance coverage throughout the mandated filing period.
An SR-22 is not required of drivers by New Jersey law and if you don’t drive, you are also not required to carry a car insurance policy but if you change your mind about driving, purchase an adequate auto insurance policy before you get started.
The state of New Jersey doesn’t have any need for an SR-22 filing. If you wish to drive legally within New Jersey but do not own a car, you would be required to buy an insurance policy before getting behind the wheel. Such a policy must at least provide the minimum liability coverage demanded by the state if not personal coverage.
No. you do not need an SR-22 filing or form in New Jersey but the state requires that you possess an auto insurance policy that meets its minimum liability coverage requirements before you get behind a wheel.
Yes, you can, but it would be smart to also check with the rental company to prevent any misunderstandings in the future. Ask about temporary car insurance NJ options if this is a short term need.
You are not required by the state of New Jersey to file for an SR-22 in the state but if you fail to file and maintain an out of state filing, your driving privileges may be suspended.