Naturally, in the event that you require an SR-22 to drive in North Dakota, you would be informed by the local DMV. Under the state’s laws, the following situations necessitate the filing of an SR-22:
The cost of filing an SR-22 in North Dakota is low, varying from $20 to $50 depending on the insurance provider doing the filing. The real cost of the SR-22 comes from the higher premiums you’d be required to pay on your policy due to your status as a high risk driver. Despite this, there are a multitude of insurance providers available, some less expensive than others, and you can shop around for the most suitable for your situation.
If you do not have a license but are still required to file for an SR-22 due to a driving violation, you’d be required to buy a non owner insurance policy and maintain your SR-22 for the mandated period in order to stand any chance of ever having a driver’s license in North Dakota. The same applies for people who possess driver’s license without owning cars of their own. Such a person would need to possess the non owner policy and file an SR-22 for the required period in order to have their license reinstated.
The process of filing the SR-22 in North Dakota is a relatively simple one. You could use the following steps a guide of sorts.
If you are from another state or are moving to another state…
In the event that you’re from another state and you have an SR-22 filing there, you are required to maintain such a filing in order to drive legally in North Dakota. Also, if you have to leave the state of North Dakota before the complete toon of your SR-22 mandate, you’d still be required to maintain it for the appropriate period or risk it’s lapse and accompanying consequences.
North Dakota law requires that an offender maintain an SR-22 form for one year beginning from:
What to do if the SR-22 lapses
Part of the process of maintaining your SR-22 form in North Dakota is ensuring its renewal at least 15 days prior to the expiry of your insurance. A failure to renew, an expired policy or a cancelled insurance policy can result in the suspension of your license. These suspension would be upheld until your coverage is renewed and the necessary reinstatement fees have been paid. It is also possible that the time required for the maintenance of the form would be reset.
How to go about cancelling my filing when I no longer need SR-22 coverage
Once the necessary year of continuous coverage has been completed, contact the North Dakota Department of Transportation to confirm that the mandatory filing period is over and then, notify your insurance provider and verify that your insurance premiums have been returned to the normal rates.
A temporary restricted license is usually issued to people whose driving privileges have been revoked for certain violations. It is a certification that authorizes the individual to drive non commercial motor vehicles for educational purposes, work purposes or the performance of essential maintenance needs.
The individual is expected to serve a portion of the suspension with no type of restricted driving privileges and the time frame of this portion is dependent on the reason for the original suspension.
A temporary restricted license can only be granted to individuals above the age of 18 and in cases of approval for educational purposes, a copy of the school schedule signed by the school administrator is required.
A temporary restricted license is not to be granted for any of the following: