Are you searching for SR-22 insurance in Wyoming? If so, there are some basics that you will need to know. Wyoming SR-22 insurance requirements may seem overwhelming, however, once you have an understanding of what’s involved, you will be well prepared to get the insurance coverage you need.
SR-22 is a type of auto insurance that is required for drivers who have exhibited high-risk driving practices. This can include incurring a large number of tickets in a short amount of time, driving while intoxicated, or driving under the influence (DWI/DUI). If a driver is required to carry SR-22 insurance, this mandate could come from the state or directly from the court. The driver will usually receive written notice of this requirement in the mail.
How to Satisfy Your SR-22 Requirement in Wyoming
If you have received notice that you must carry SR-22 insurance in Wyoming, your next step is to contact your auto insurance company. You will need to inquire as to whether or not they can provide you with this type of coverage. If your auto insurance company doesn’t offer SR-22 insurance, then you will need to go shop around and find an insurer that will provide this type of coverage to you.
Once you have found an auto insurance company that will insure you for a reasonable price, the next step is to have them file the SR-22 form for you. Filing the SR-22 form requires a one-time filing fee that can range in cost between $15 to $35 depending on the company. Once the form has been filed, you will then need to begin making payments with the SR-22 coverage added to your policy. It is important to continue making payments monthly without missing a payment as this could hurt your driving privileges.
Drivers who are required to carry SR-22 insurance in Wyoming may be wondering what they can expect to pay. In general, higher-risk drivers can expect to see an increase in their auto insurance payments. This is because auto insurance companies will charge more per month to ensure a higher risk driver. Wyoming SR-22 costs can vary between $622 and $1,170 per year. To find the most affordable coverage, drivers will want to shop around and do their due diligence by comparing quotes from both local and national auto insurance companies.
SR-22 insurance is also known as a certificate of financial responsibility. This certificate indicates that the driver is carrying at least the minimum amount of required auto insurance for the state. In Wyoming, the minimum auto insurance requirements are as follows:
Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
Property Damage: $20,000 per accident
Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
SR-22 insurance is a way for the court or the state to create accountability for drivers who have exhibited risky driving behavior in the past. With SR-22 coverage, the driver can prove that they are paying at least the minimum required coverage. This is why it is also called a certificate of financial responsibility.
Not every motorist will need to carry SR-22 insurance after a traffic infraction. Although laws vary by state, it helps to know when an SR-22 will be needed. Below are some of the instances in which a driver is required to carry SR-22 insurance in Wyoming.
If you are trying to satisfy an SR-22 insurance requirement in Wyoming, it helps to know what steps are needed. You will first need to get in touch with an auto insurance company that is authorized to write an auto insurance policy on your behalf. Once the SR-22 is paid, it will be sent to Driver Services via electronic transfer. This happens within 24 to 72 hours after the purchase has been made. According to Wyoming law, the SR-22 must be maintained for a minimum of 3 years. Drivers who are moving out of Wyoming will need to fill out a non-resident proof of financial responsibility form. This form will release the driver from their SR-22 insurance requirement in the state however, they will need to check if they still owe a reinstatement fee. Any citations can be paid directly to the court.
It helps to know where to get SR-22 insurance coverage in West Virginia especially if you are required to carry this coverage. The only place to get this coverage is from an established auto insurance company. The auto insurance provider will file a form for you which has a fee associated with it. After you pay the fee, the form will be filed and you will then have to make monthly auto insurance payments which will be higher than your standard auto insurance premiums. If your current auto insurance company does not offer SR-22 insurance, you can compare quotes between different auto insurance providers to find one that will offer the coverage you need.
Drivers should be aware that they have options when it comes to the type of SR-22 insurance that they will obtain. There are three different types of SR-22 insurance which includes non-owner SR-22 insurance, owner SR-22 insurance, and owner-operator SR-22 insurance. It's important to understand the differences so you can ensure that you have the right coverage for your situation.
Non-Owner SR 22 Insurance
A Non-owner SR-22 insurance policy is used when a driver is not the primary owner of the vehicle but they will need to drive it occasionally. This can be used when borrowing a vehicle or renting a car from a car rental company.
Owner SR-22 Insurance
A driver who is required to carry SR-22 insurance and who owns a vehicle will need to get owner SR-22 insurance coverage. This is the best option for individuals who own a car that they operate regularly.
Owner Operator SR-22 Insurance
If a driver is planning to operate a vehicle that they own as well as one that they don’t own, then they will need to get owner operator SR-22 insurance.