Alaska Local Business, Insurance, and Government Resources

Navigate to:

Business Resources - Anything from getting a business license to finding funding

Local Insurance directory - Find local insurance brokers, agents, or companies

Government Contacts - Get in contact with each level of local government

Alaska Local Business Resources

To register a new business in Alaska, you can go to the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing to find the corresponding application form. Upon the completion and submission of the application form, you must settle the non-refundable business license or endorsement fee. The forms can be filled out in the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development offices or website.

The standard processing of business license applications are 10-15 business days. The cost of new business license application is $50 per year. You can purchase for 1 or 2 years' worth of business license fee at a time. The same fee applies for business renewals.

Prior to filing your business license application, it is recommended that you review the Alaska Business Licensing Statutes and Regulations . You must identify your business organizational structure: sole proprietorship, partnership, or entity (INC, LLC, or LLP).

Choose your business and register it as a business license does not provide you with exclusive rights to that name. You must then specify the business activities you will be engaging in through the Line of Business and Alaska NAICS codes . If your business involves professional services, a validated Professional License must be submitted along with your business name registration.

As part of your application, identify the name(s) of the business owner(s).

Local Insurance Info, Agents, & Companies in Alaska

Government Contacts

The state of Alaska has 12 counties and 149 municipalities that range from the expansive North Slope (87,860 sq mi or 227, 557 sq mi) to the smaller Bristol Bay (519 sq mi or 1,344 sq km). There are also 43 public schools and 14 special districts in the state of Alaska.

Most municipalities in the state were governed by an elected mayor, council, and more than 100 village councils. Some municipalities, however, have consolidated city and borough functions, such as Alaska's three unified municipalities namely Anchorage, Juneau, and Sitka.

The 1971 land claim settlement had around 44 million acres of federal land returned to the native population of Alaska. The native communities of the state receive varying levels of assistance from the federal government through the U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs, including assistance in setting up the village in accordance with the governing laws.

See the main Alaska Page for borough links.

Aleutians East

Aleutians West




Fairbanks North Star



Kenai Peninsula

Ketchikan Gateway

Kodiak Island

Lake and Peninsula



North Slope

Northwest Arctic

Prince of Wales



Southeast Fairbanks



© State & Local 1995-2023