Hawaii Local Business, Insurance, and Government Resources

Navigate to:

Business Resources - Anything from getting a business license to finding funding

Local Insurance directory - Find local insurance brokers, agents, or companies

Government Contacts - Get in contact with each level of local government

Hawaii Local Business Resources

In Hawaii, registering your business is done through the State of Hawaii's Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs. You can check out the department's Business Registration Division in the local office or online.

The business registration forms must be duly accomplished and is designed to obtain information that meet the state's statutory filing requirements. You can find the online registration forms here if you want to process the registration online.

You can start by doing a business name search to determine your chosen business name's availability. If the name is available, you can register it or file for a new trade name.

The next step is to register a business license. The specific license required will vary on the nature and type of your business, as well as the specific city you are operating the business in. For professional service businesses, you might need to secure additional professional license to operate.

Tax registration is the next step in this process to register your new business. All businesses in Hawaii must adhere to the state's tax regulations for businesses. If you have at least one employee, you need to register for income withholding tax, sales and use tax, and unemployment insurance tax.

The Hawaii Business Express is a one-stop shop for all information needed for business registration in the state.

Local Insurance Info, Agents, & Companies in Hawaii

Government Contacts

Hawaii State has five counties, namely Hawaii (which includes the island of Hawaii), Maui (which includes the islands of Maui, Molokai, Lanai, and Kahoolawe), Honolulu (includes Honolulu, Oahu, and northwestern Hawaii Islands), Kauai (includes islands of Kauai, and Nihau), and Kalawao (includes Molokai). Maui County represents Kalawao in the state legislature. Since 2002, the state has a total of 15 special districts and one public school system.

Since there are no further local government forms, counties in the state of Hawaii provide some services usually performed in other states by towns, cities, villages. This includes police and fire protection, street lighting and maintenance, etc. The state government, however, provides functions usually performed by counties on the mainland. Each county has an elected mayor and council.

See the main Hawaii Page for county links.


© State & Local 1995-2023