Mississippi Local Business, Insurance, and Government Resources

Navigate to:

Business Resources - Anything from getting a business license to finding funding

Local Insurance directory - Find local insurance brokers, agents, or companies

Government Contacts - Get in contact with each level of local government

Mississippi Local Business Resources

To register your business in Mississippi, it takes only a few simple steps. Before you get started, make sure you have written a business plan and have decided on your business structure. Research the different requirements you need to comply with when you register different types of business structures in Mississippi.

The next step is to choose your business name. You must decide on a name as you would have to register it as your trade name. You can also use that name for your domain registration (if you want to build a website for your business). The cost to register your business will depend on the business structure you have chosen. For example, LLCs have a filing fee of $50.

You are now ready to obtain a tax ID number for your business. This will be used for paying your federal and state taxes. This can be done through the IRS website.

Depending on the type of your business, you must also purchase business insurance. There is specialized insurance coverage types required for certain types of businesses, too. If you are engaged in the business of selling goods, you must also register it at the Mississippi Department of Revenue so you can pay sales tax.

The final step is to check if you need to secure additional licenses and permits. Not all businesses are required to get them but if you fall into specific categories of businesses, then you need to. You can get more information via the SBA website .

Local Insurance Info, Agents, & Companies in Mississippi

Government Contacts

Since 2002, the state of Mississippi has 82 counties divided into five districts. Each district elects members of their board of supervisors. The state also has 296 municipalities of cities, towns, or villages. These municipalities are overseen by a mayor-council form of government.

Smaller municipalities in the state of Mississippi are governed by a city manager appointed by council members or a commission. There are 146 public school districts and a total of 458 special districts.

Based on the constitution, the local government of Mississippi consists of three branches: executive, legislative, and judicial. The heads of each executive department are elected instead of being appointed. All of these positions have a four-year term. It is possible for officials to be re-appointed or re-elected into their seat.

From the late 1800s to late 1940s, Mississippi was mostly dominated by the Democratic party. In 1972, most of the Democrats switched to the Republican party. The state plays a major role in the elections and it is dominated by the Republicans since 1972.

See the main Mississippi Page for county links.

















Pearl River





© State & Local 1995-2023