Montana Local Business, Insurance, and Government Resources

Navigate to:

Business Resources - Anything from getting a business license to finding funding

Local Insurance directory - Find local insurance brokers, agents, or companies

Government Contacts - Get in contact with each level of local government

Montana Local Business Resources

To register a business in Montana entails a few easy steps. The first one is to select your business structure according to what is the best fit for your situation. It is also important to note that there are different sets of requirements for each type of business structure along with its distinct tax benefits.

You should then register the business name with the Montana Secretary of State. You can also check the domain name if it's available (in case the business name is). If all are available, you can register them at this stage. You can go to the IRS website to obtain your employer identification number (if you are hiring employees for your business). You must also comply with requirements set by the state and city you will be operating your business in, especially in terms of tax registration.

Next is to meet with an insurance agent to obtain the necessary insurance coverage for your business. In addition, you must check for additional licenses and permits that you need to secure before you can open your doors for business. Some types of businesses might require zoning permits or professional licensing, for example. If this applies to you, it is important to process those licenses and permits to legally operate.

Local Insurance Info, Agents, & Companies in Montana

Government Contacts

Since 2002, the state of Montana has been divided into 54 counties, 129 municipalities, and 592 special districts. Each county commission office is typically governed by elected officials, which includes the city manager, clerk and recorder, attorney, school superintendent, sheriff, assessor, treasurer, and coroner.

Unified city-county governments include Anaconda-Deer Lodge County and the Butte-Silver Bow County. There are also 352 public school districts in the state.

Despite being located north of the US, the state is highly Western in its culture and way of life. Many of the main cities have remained the way they were back in the Gold Rush era of the 1860s. It became the 41st state of the US in 1889. It is called the Treasure State due to the high amount of mineral wealth in its land.

There are three mechanisms that govern the state's local government: 1) periodic vote review of local government, 2) acquisition of self-government powers, and 3) authority for both municipalities and counties to adopt a self-government charter.

See the main Montana Page for county links.





Lewis and Clark




Silver Bow



© State & Local 1995-2023