Rhode Island Local Business, Insurance, and Government Resources

Navigate to:

Business Resources - Anything from getting a business license to finding funding

Local Insurance directory - Find local insurance brokers, agents, or companies

Government Contacts - Get in contact with each level of local government

Rhode Island Local Business Resources

To register a business in Rhode Island involves a few simple steps. Follow these guidelines in order to register your business in the state:

Step 1: Gather required information.

Come up with a business name. Make sure to check the RI Department of State Corporate Database to see if the chosen name is still available. Find a registered agent that will be responsible for conducting legal and official documents processing for your business.

Step 2: Obtain a certificate of good standing.

This is a must to register your business in Rhode Island. The certificate must be valid within 60 days from the time of filing your business registration.

Step 3: Register your business entity.

There is a corresponding filing fee for the chosen business entity. You must also comply with different set of requirements for each type.

Step 4: Register for tax.

Go to the RI Division of Taxation's Taxpayer Portal so you can register for your business tax. The type of tax registration to pursue will vary depending on the type of business you have.

Step 5: Submit your registration.

Unless you need additional permits and licenses, or insurance, for your business, you can submit your business registration form. This will officially start your business formation.

Related: Business line of credit with no revenue.

Local Insurance Info, Agents, & Companies in Rhode Island

Government Contacts

The state of Rhode Island is one of the smaller states in the US. It has 8 municipalities and 31 townships. In addition to that, it has 4 public school districts and 75 special districts. The municipalities and townships form the main units of the local government.

Some of the smaller communities in Rhode Island still observe the town meeting form of government. In this type of government, the eligible voters assemble in order to enact the local budget and tax levy. They also assemble when discussing and implementing local measures.

For the larger cities and towns, they follow the major-city council form of government. In some towns and cities, though, they have a city-manager form of government.

Geographically, Rhode Island is divided into five counties. However, the county government has been abolished since 1842. The cities and towns are given the power to exercise police force, impose property taxes, acquire and expend revenue, initiate lawsuits, enact ordinances, and enforce zoning regulations.






© State & Local 1995-2023