New York Defensive Driving Traffic School Online

Traffic school for New York is reserved for drivers who either need to clear points off their record, or who would like to get a discount on their car insurance. Also known as defensive driving courses or the point and insurance reduction program , these are offered online and in classroom settings for a minimal fee.

Students who complete either course can have 4 points removed from their record and enjoy a substantial insurance discount.

Requirements for Traffic School Near Me

Students who decide to take traffic school in person must attend all of the 320 hours of classroom training. If you sign up for the online course, you'll have 30 days to complete the entire course. In many cases, there is no final examination, which makes passing the course much easier.

To qualify for course participation, drivers must:

A 10 percent premium reduction will be added to your insurance policy once the course has been completed. This discount will be good for a total of three years.

Click Here to Decrease or Prevent Points on Your Drivers License

Passing Traffic School in New York

If you successfully complete all of the requirements for traffic school, you'll receive a certificate of completion from the instructor or, if taken online, a confirmation email with a code that you'll give to your insurance company. If you do not receive a certificate of completion immediately after the course has been completed, the provider must either mail you a certificate with 45 days or email you a copy within 14 days.

What does the Course Cover?

Traffic school in New York covers a variety of topics that are pertinent to becoming a safe and defensive driver.

Some of these topics include alcohol and drug-related driving laws and safe practices, safe highway driving, judgement, basic state traffic rules and regulations, driving during an emergency situation, and more.

In the state of New York, it is important to remember that you can only take this course once every 36 months. If you receive multiple citations during that time frame, you'll only be able to reduce points for one of them. If you fail to take the course again after 36 months, insurance companies will increase your premium until you submit proof that you've completed the course again. Also keep in mind you may need NY SR22 insurance if you have a DUI on your record.

© State & Local 1995-2023