Driver improvement classes, defensive driving courses, or traffic schools are available for Tennessee drivers. By enrolling in a course, drivers can avoid getting their driver's license suspended, reduce the amount of time that your driver's license will be suspended, satisfy a traffic ticket, meet a court requirement, or lower your car insurance rates.
The Tennessee Department of Safety (DOS) may require a driver improvement traffic school course if you accumulate 12 points or more on your driving record within a year or accumulate 6 points or more if you are younger than 18 years old.
If you receive a notice of pending suspension, you may ask a court to review your driver's license suspension. The local court will decide whether a defensive driving class can be completed instead of suspending your license.
Without a hearing, the DOS will probably suspend your driver's license for six to 12 months.
Click Here to Decrease or Prevent Points on Your Drivers License
After receiving a traffic ticket, you may be able to avoid driving record points and have your ticket dismissed by completing a defensive driving course. The courts generally allow you to dismiss a certain number of tickets within a certain time frame. Eligibility is determined on a case-by-case basis by the court. Typically, only minor traffic violations can be dismissed with a driver improvement course.
For more information, please contact your court.
Teenagers and senior citizens generally know they can earn auto insurance discounts by taking a defensive driving course. However, insurance companies often provide a discount for any driver willing to work on better driving habits. Contact your insurance company to see if they offer such programs. Also ask about Tennessee SR22 insurance quotes and if you could be paying less.
Both defensive driving classes that are offered online and in the classroom will cover a wide range of subjects including defensive driving tips, safe driving behaviors and attitudes, Tennessee traffic laws, and how to share the road with others. Information about alcohol safety and education is presented as well.
Defensive driving classes vary in length, and different requirements may be specified to receive a completion certificate. After passing a final exam, a completion certificate will be sent to you, which may need to be submitted to the Tennessee DOS, your traffic court, or your car insurance carrier depending on the reasons for taking the defensive driving class.
For a complete list of defensive driving courses and traffic school programs, please visit the Tennessee DOS website.
© State & Local 1995-2023